Insights and Inspiration for a Happy, Healthy and Peaceful You


Insights and Inspiration

For a Happy, Healthy and Peaceful You

Home » Sikh filmmaker honored with Hofstra University’s Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize

Sikh filmmaker honored with Hofstra University’s Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize

by Team@Lotus
0 comment
guru nanak prize

Amardeep Singh, an author and filmmaker, was awarded Hofstra University’s 2022 Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize on  November 14 for his focused work on the history and legacy of Sikhism.

Singh, co-founder of Lost Heritage Productions in Singapore, recently released a 24-episode documentary series retracing the 16th century travels of Guru Nanak, the founder of the Sikh religion. The series, “Allegory: A Tapestry of Guru Nanak’s Travels” was filmed at more than 150 multi-faith sites in nine countries.

The Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize supports the efforts of those individuals and organizations who work to advance the vision of Guru Nanak of discovering oneness of humanity by exploring the differences that separate us. The $50,000  Prize is bestowed every two years to recognize significant work to increase interfaith understanding.

Singh has written several books, including “Lost Heritage: The Sikh Legacy In Pakistan” and “The Quest Continues: Lost Heritage – The Sikh Legacy” and produced two documentaries based on his experiences traveling in Pakistan, “Peering Warrior” and “Peering Soul”.

Based in Long Island, New York, Hofstra University chose Singh from among 18 nominees, said Daniel Seabold, acting dean of its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

“The committee was greatly impressed by Amardeep Singh’s examination of Guru Nanak’s interest in seeking universal fellowship among people of diverse faiths,” Seabold said. 

The Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize was established in 2006 by Sardar Ishar Singh Bindra and family. It is meant to encourage understanding of various religions, and foster collaboration between faith communities. Guru Nanak believed that all humans are equal, regardless of color, ethnicity, nationality, or gender identity.

The 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet, Tenzin Gyatso was the first winner of the Guru Nanak Prize in 2008. Since then, eight individuals and organizations have been recognized with the prize, including 2020 co-honorees author and scholar Dr. Karen Armstrong and her global Charter for Compassion movement, and the Interfaith Center of New York.

Related Articles